Hello world!

My name is Ashlee. After months of growing spiritually and creating encouraging post on Facebook, I was led to move from Facebook and start up a blog page of all the inspirations that God has been presenting to me. So welcome all to the new blog page Living in Righteousness.

A little about me: I was born in Forthood, TX and raised in Smyrna, Ga. From the day I was conceived I was a blessing to the world. I was born with a congenital disorder known as Arthrogryposis, which is a stiffness in the joints and a condition that affects 1 out 300 births. This disorder affects me in my wrist and elbows. When I was born I was very sick and spent my first month in the hospital. During that time I spent a lot of time fighting for  life.  A fighter for life is who I am. Though I may have physical deformity I don’t let it stand in my way. Life is a struggle especially if you don’t have God in your life. I have been a follower of Chirst since the age 4 0r 5 years old and baptized at about 5 or 6 years old. I can remember spending summers a t my grandmother’s and attending church. After service would end I would try to stay with the elders of the church when they would have after service discussions because I wasn’t ready to leave. As I got older I continued to believe in Jesus and all the great things the Lord was capable of doing. Yet, my eagerness of wanting to hear more and understand the Lord and His word was slowly faltering in my life.  At about 16 years of age I received the Holy Ghost. I was at a point in my life when I realized that I needed to get back to listening and understanding the word of God. From that point I was set in the right direction, but yet had very little understanding of where I was going. I then went to college, had big dreams of wanting to become a Pediatrician and living the ritzy life, but I quickly learned that not all goes according to plan. Leading up to this past year I had already completed my first Bachelors degree and just finished a year of Americorps and a lot of things I had hoped for myself and was trying to plan for myself just wasn’t happening. I became depressed and moped around complaining and asking “why can’t I have my way?” I had, but one other alternative left for me at the time that I felt would work out for me and that was going back to school. I knew going back to school for a 2nd Bachelors was financially not going to be easy let alone my decision of returning back to the state where I did my Americorps program. On that day, August 9th, 2011, I came to realize that its not all about me and what I want, but what God wants and if I want to do anything on this earth worth something that the only way I’ll be able to do that is through God. That day I was humbled and kneeled down and accepted God as the Father and authority of my life. My life is not my own, but His and He has all power to take me out like that. Since that day I have changed so much and made each day of my life about God. Over a span of 20 years (I found this very interesting) I have accepted the Trinity as head of my life. Age 5 or 6 accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior. Age 16 accepted the Holy Ghost to lead me and guide me. Age 25-26 accepted the Father as head of my life. Through my final acceptance of the Trinity and gaining a better understanding of who God is, I became a born again Christian. I let go of the world and sin and sought hard after the Lord and His righteousness. Living righteously is not something that happens over night its a gradual process. As I continue to seek after the Lord’s Kingdom and His righteousness, I will strive to continue being the blessing that God created me to be. My creating this blog is to reach others who are, been, or want to seek hard after the Lord. Don’t be afraid to look to God even if you don’t know Him. He’ll come to you even if you don’t ask.

(John 3: 5-8) 5 Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. 6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. 7 Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

Leave a Reply

