Unmovable, unshakeable,…. faithless

Sometimes we get so comfortable with the way things are we start to become oblivious to the things that matter most. We don’t think there will be change or think that there is something much greater and better than what is before us. We just continue our lives everyday the same, day in and day out, STUCK in the same place with no care to move.

Earlier I began picking up reading where I left in “Life in Righteousness: The Word is Your Life” by Billy Miller. In Mr. Miller’s book, he mentions that “we use our experiences to determine God’s word”, but we can’t believe on our experiences alone to make the word true. We have to live it and believe it to be true. He also mentioned that “if we are not taught the Word, then it’s impossible to be in faith;” “If we never hear the Word on healing, then we won’t have faith for healing.” “We tend to hear the Word on salvation, communion, baptism, and the blood and rarely on anything else.” So we end up putting more faith in these areas and lack faith in other areas of life. Mr. Miller made a really good point about our experiences and our faith. We can’t put more faith in our experiences than in the Word of God or use only our experiences to justify the word of God as true. The word has and always will be true.

Revelation: For the past year of me living in North Louisiana, I have noticed that my physical condition (refer back to the hello world blog) has become a big concern within my life once again. When I was very young I never knew that I was “different” from everyone else until I was about 6 years old. Ever since then and throughout adolescence for me I had struggled with accepting myself for how I am. Once I finally accepted myself, which was probably in high school, I just overlooked my “difference” and looked at myself being no different than anyone else on this earth. Now to current date and after years of no BIG concerns aboutmy condition, I have found many people are showing concern about my wellbeing, hoping and praying that I will be healed. I have found that people are more concerned about me becoming healed than I am. It’s not that I don’t want to be healed or that I’m not concerned about my condition, it’s just that I’ve been this way all my life. I’ve learned to accept myself as I am and I believe God will heal me when He sees fit. (See where this is going?) I’ve become too comfortable being the way I am, more like oblivious. I never recognize that I’m different until I look in a mirror or see myself in pictures. I’ve become stuck in how I am physically. Referring back to what Mr. Miller mentioned about our experiences and our belief in the word, I need to do more than just believe that God will heal me and not just believe that He will heal me when I pass away, but that He will heal me while I’m still walking around on this earth. I need to hear more about the word of healing, understand it, and live it out. First of all and most importantly is I need to stop being oblivious and move from this spot!

(Matthew 17:20) 20 So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.

Leave a Reply

